MU Art Space - Eindhoven
02 / 12 / 2016 - 26 / 02 / 2017

A dance of humans and viruses to the tune of evolution, a compass needle made of iron extracted from placentas and 3D printed materials inspired by the development of human organs. In May this year, these three proposals were proclaimed the winners of the Bio Art & Design Award 2016, a competition for young artists and designers who move the boundaries of art and science with promising biotechnological projects in collaboration with leading Dutch research institutions.

This year’s award winners are Pei-Ying Lin who collaborated with Miranda de Graaf of the Erasmus MC Viroscience Lab on Tame is to Tame; Cecilia Jonsson who created Haem in collaboration with Rodrigo Leite de Oliveira of The Netherlands Cancer Institute / Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Hospital; and Lilian van Daal & Roos Meerman who developed Dynamorphosis – The beauty of inner mechanisms together with Renée van Amerongen of the Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences at the University of Amsterdam.

Each team had six months to develop their plans. This winter, as part of the exhibition Fluid Matter, MU artspace exhibits the exciting results of these collaborations.


Fluid Matter explores the theme of fluidity inside and between bodies, cells, and substances. Life’s processes abound with continuous exchanges and are often embodied in liquid form, flowing throughout complex and microscopic environments; yet, these phenomena often escape perception. It takes the intervention of artists and designers to bring them into the realm of the observable, lend them meaning, highlight their beauty, or find their material potential at different scales.

Fluid Matter is curated by Angelique Spaninks, Director MU, and William Myers, Jury Chairman Bio Art and Design Awards.

Participating artists:

Thijs Biersteker (NL)
Michael Burton and Michiko Nitta (UK)
Inés Cámara Leret (UK)
Lilian van Daal & Roos Meerman (NL) BAD Award winner
Teresa van Dongen (NL)
Xandra van der Eijk (NL)
Cecilia Jonsson (NO) BAD Award winner
Pei-Ying Lin (TW) BAD Award winner
Ana María Gómez López (US)
Mari Ohno (JP)
Tarah Rhoda (US)


About the BAD Award:

Since 2014, the BAD (Bio Art & Design) Award exhibition, featuring the three winners of the BAD Awards of that year, is on show at MU. The BAD Award is a unique competition that aims at stimulating young artists and designers from The Netherlands and abroad to experiment with bioart and design and to collaborate with renowned Dutch science centers.

This year’s award winners are Pei-Ying Lin who collaborated with Miranda de Graaf of the Erasmus MC Viroscience Lab on ‘Tame is to Tame’; Cecilia Jonsson who created ‘Haem’ in collaboration with Rodrigo Leite de Oliveira of The Netherlands Cancer Institute / Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Hospital (NKI); and Lilian van Daal & Roos Meerman who developed ‘Dynamorphosis – The beauty of inner mechanisms’ together with Renée van Amerongen of the Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences of the University of Amsterdam.


The BAD Award is a product of a collaboration between NWO (Dutch Research Council – Earth and Life Sciences, Humanities, The Hague), ZonMW (Medical Research Council, The Hague), MU (Eindhoven), Waag Society (Amsterdam), Eindhoven University of Technology (Eindhoven) and BioArt Laboratories (Eindhoven).