26 MAY 2009

Raster Noton‘s investigations into sound frequencies and sequences are principally developed in the field of music, but often cross over into the visual arts. Using digital signal processing as their primary medium (often in combination with moving images and graphics) the label’s many releases and live performances explore minimal, modular, and concrete approaches to the structure of sound and its possibilities for being activated and manipulated as a material form.

“While their late 20th century forebears applied the aesthetics of processes and mechanisms from manufacturing and industry to their craft, so many of the Raster Noton label’s publications emulate the unseen operations and transactions of our era – the flow of information.”( http://www.boomkat.com/article.cfm?id=23 )

For The Shop , the archives of the Chemnitz-based Raster Noton label will be presented at e-flux in the form of a record shop, albeit one without a commercial component. Comprised of publications (featuring Raster Noton’s distinct approach to graphic design), music CD’s (to be displayed as physical objects), and sound (for listening on mp3 players), the Raster Noton archive will offer a panoramic view of the label’s output of nearly 100 releases, or 90 hours of audio material.

Olaf Bender and Carsten Nicolai installation “White Line Light” will provide lighting for The Shop via a handmade, neon gas-filled tube that reacts to Raster Noton compositions.

Since its creation in 1999, Raster Noton has been exploring minimalist experimental sound at the borders of art and science. Having emerged from the fusion of the Rastermusic and Noton labels, Raster Noton has since established itself as the single most influential German platform for experimental electronic music.

Many electronic musicians of the late 1990s and early 2000s have contributed to the label’s catalog, including: Carsten Nicolai (Alva Noto), Franz Pomassl, Frank Bretschneider (Komet), Ilpo Vaisanen, Mika Vainio (Ø), Ryoji Ikeda, Ivan Pavlov (CoH), Thomas Brinkmann, Robin Rimbaud (Scanner), Coil (ElPH), Wolfgang Voigt, Olaf Bender (Byetone), Richard Chartier, Kim Cascone, Frans de Waard, Roel Meelkop and Peter Duimelinks (Goem), Jens Massel (Senking), and Taylor Deupree.

The Shop is the second in a new series of exhibitions at e-flux project space at 41 Essex Street, lower level. e-flux project space is open to the public from Tuesday through Saturday, 12-6 PM. The Shop will remain at e-flux through the end of July.