The exhibition “fast forward 2. The Power of Motion” at the ZKM – Museum of Contemporary Art shows a representative selection of new acquisitions in video and media art from the internationally renowned collection of Ingvild Goetz from Munich.

The collection has expanded significantly since the exhibition “fast forward” in 2003 at the ZKM.

Now seven years later, the exhibition aims to exam movement and acceleration, but also the potential for deceleration. Present as a loaded symbol at the interface of dynamics and global world is the standard sea freight container.

For this reason, an unusual exhibition architecture has been created: 19 containers in which video installations can be viewed are set up in the two atria of the ZKM – Museum of Contemporary Art.

With her impressive collection whose origins can be traced back to the 1960s, Ingvild Goetz has compiled a museum-level panorama of contemporary art that is as extensive as it is personal.

Presented will be approximately 50 videos, video installations, and films from 35 artists. The works exhibited focus on current productions from 2000 to today, and offer an ensemble of well established, internationally renown positions and young artists, in part, new discoveries, as it is a personal concern of the collector to also show works from emerging artists.

Video-based works are already firmly established as a means of expression in our era. The development of generally valid social questions from personal perspectives is the starting point of many works in this collection.

A great number of artists represented in the Sammlung Goetz do not produce their works for the “white cube” of the museum, but rather, for the cinema. For this reason, the exhibition will be accompanied by a film program shown in the media theater.

A catalogue has been published for the exhibition
(320 pages, with ca. 780 ill., eds. Ingvild Goetz and Stephan Urbaschek).

Peter Weibel, Gregor Jansen, Andreas F. Beitin, and Ingvild Goetz, Stephan Urbaschek

Participating artists:
AES+F, Francis Alÿs, Janine Antoni, Matthew Barney, Ulla von Brandenburg, Christoph Brech, Ergin Cavusoglu, Paul Chan, David Claerbout, Nathalie Djurberg, Stan Douglas, Juan Manuel Echavarría, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Rodney Graham, Isaac Julien, Jesper Just, Mike Kelley, Kimsooja, Jochen Kuhn, Óscar Muñoz, Marcel Odenbach, Hans Op de Beeck, Ulrike Ottinger, Mary Reid Kelley, Robin Rhode, Julian Rosefeldt, Aïda Ruilova, Wilhelm Sasnal, Christine Schulz, Laurie Simmons, Frank Stürmer, Fiona Tan, Ryan Trecartin, Yang Fudong, Zhao Liang