The National Art Center - Tokyo
07 / 07 / 2015 - 09 / 09 / 2015

The Japan Media Arts Festival is a comprehensive festival of Media Arts (Media Geijutsu) that honors outstanding works from a diverse range of media – from animation and comics to media art and games. The festival gives awards in each of its four divisions: Art, Entertainment, Animation, and Manga. Since its inception in 1997, the festival has recognized significant works of high artistry and creativity, and in addition to a yearly Exhibition of Award-winning Works has held other events, such as symposiums, screenings, and showcases.

Entries are sought from professional, amateur, independent and commercial creators across the globe. Works completed or released between September 3, 2014 and September 9, 2015 are eligible for entry in the four divisions – Art, Entertainment, Animation and Manga.


Entry Period: Tuesday, July 7 – Wednesday, September 9, 2015 (18:00 Japan Standard Time)

Announcement of Award-winning Works: Late November 2015

Awards Ceremony: Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Exhibition of Award-winning Works: Wednesday, February 3 – Sunday, February 14, 2016

Venue: The National Art Center, Tokyo (Roppongi, Tokyo) and other locations

19th Japan Media Arts Festival

Entry Outline

The Four DivisionsArt, Entertainment, Animation, Manga

Art Division

Works of art created with new media and digital technologies.

Interactive art, media installations, video works, video installations, graphic art (digital illustrations, digital photographs, computer graphics, etc.), internet art, media performances, etc.

Entertainment Division

Works for entertainment created with digital technologies.

Games (video games, online games, etc.), video / sound works (music videos, independent and advertising videos, etc.), multimedia productions (including special-effects videos, performances, projections), gadgets, electronic devices, websites (including web promotion, open source projects), application software, etc.

Animation Division

Animated feature films, animated short films, animated series, etc.

Manga Division

Comics published in book form, comics published in a magazine (including works still being serialized), comics published online (for computer or mobile), self-published comics, etc.

19th Japan Media Arts Festival3


Works must be completed or released between: Wednesday, September 3, 2014 and Wednesday, September 9, 2015. 


For each division, one Grand Prize, four Excellence Awards, and three New Face Awards will be awarded on the basis of artistic quality and creativity. In addition, a Special Achievement Award will be awarded on the recommendation of the Jury to a person or group having made a special contribution to Media Arts in any of the four divisions. 

Grand Prize: Certificate*, trophy, 600,000 Japanese Yen 

Excellence Award: Certificate*, trophy, 300,000 Japanese Yen 

New Face Award: Certificate*, trophy, 200,000 Japanese Yen